About Us

The Sampson County Economic Development Commission works to promote Sampson County and its eight municipalities as a great place to do business.  We support our existing industry, as well as actively pursue companies from outside the area to locate or expand their facilities in our community.

If you have any questions about doing business in Sampson County, or would like to arrange a visit, please don’t hesitate to contact us.

John Swope
Executive Director 

Janice C. Wood
Senior Administrative Support Specialist

The Sampson County EDC Advisory Board serves in an advisory capacity to the Economic Development Commission staff and the Sampson County Board of Commissioners in economic development related matters.  The Advisory Board is comprised of both Sampson County Board of Commissioners Appointed Members and Ex-Officio Members based on the organizations they represent.

ADVISORY BOARD  2017 - 2018

Appointed Members

John Baxter, Chairman General Manager, Schindler Elevator, Inc.
Timmy Butler, Vice Chairman President, Butler & Son Funeral Home, Inc.
Hugh N. Carr
President, H. N. Carr, Inc.
Dewayne West
West & Associates
Anthony Sessoms CPA, Denning, Herring, Sessoms & Company
Jerry D. Hobbs Retired County Manager
Billy Ray Jordan Director of Real Estate, Jordan Shopping Center
Pat Nobles
City Executive, BB&T
Clark Wooten
Chairman, Sampson County Board of Commissioners

Ex-Officio Members

Dr. Paul Hutchins            
President, Sampson Community College
Roland Hall Town of Roseboro, Western Sampson Commerce Group
Kaitlin Norris Adkins
Executive Director, Clinton-Sampson Chamber of Commerce
Dr. Shawn Howerton
CEO, Sampson Regional Medical Center
Robert Hyatt
Interim, City Manager, City of Clinton
Duke Energy
Ray Jordan Director, Sampson County Exposition Center
Sandra Webster   
Manager, NC Works Career Center of Sampson County
Ed Causey County Manager, County of Sampson
John Swope Executive Director, Sampson County EDC
Chuck Spell
President, Clinton 100 Committee
Dickie Smith President, Newton Grove 100 Committee
Mary Rose Director, Clinton-Sampson Planning Department
Jerol Kivett Chairman, Sampson County Transportation Advisory Group
Jerol Kivett Commissioner, Sampson County Board of Commissioners

↑ Back to the top