Advisory Board

Sampson County Economic Development Commission’s Advisory Board is made up of business, education, and community leaders, all of whom are important to the health and wellbeing of the business community.

John Baxter, Chair

Schindler Elevator, Inc.

Tim Butler, Vice-Chair

Butler & Son Funeral Home, Inc.

Hugh Carr

HN Carr, Inc.

Richard Chancy


Bryan Griffin

Edward D. Jones & Company, L.P.

Jerry D. Hobbs

Retired, Sampson County Manager

Pat Nobles


Dewayne West

West & Associates

Clark Wooten

Chairman, Sampson County Board of Commissioners

Ex-Officio Advisory Board Members

Stephen Barrington

Executive Director, Sampson County Economic Development Commission

Ed Causey

County Manager, Sampson County

Houston Crumpler (“Chip”)

Chairman, Western Sampson Commerce Group

Thomas Hart, Jr. (“Tom”)

City Manager, City of Clinton

Dr. Shawn Howerton

CEO, Sampson Regional Medical Center

Jerol Kivett

Commissioner, Sampson County Board of Commissioners

Mary Rose

Director, Clinton Planning Department

Chuck Spell

President, Clinton 100 Committee

Dr. Bill Starling

President, Sampson Community College

Tammy Laurence

Director, Clinton-Sampson Chamber of Commerce

Sandra Webster

Manager, NC Department of Commerce, Division of Workforce Solutions

Kermit Williamson

Board Member, NC Southeast Partnership